Nostalgia Blast Viewer Mail from Nick! Unboxing TMNT, Conan, Doctor Who, Street Fighter, & More!

Our buddy Nick sent us an awesome parcel of nostalgic goodies! A pile of comics, followed by some truly awesome VHS tapes and Doctor Who goodies that just cracked us up. XD Once you’ve checked out the video, go check out Nick’s Instagram account to see his amazing custom Jason Voorhees masks!


Comic Review: “TMNT/Usagi Yojimbo” [Spoiler-Free]


Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles / Usagi Yojimbo is a 72-page hardcover book celebrating the reuniting of Kevin Eastman’s Ninja Turtles and Stan Sakai’s Usagi Yojimbo in comic format after more than two decades of being apart on the page. Though I never read either of the iconic characters’ comics as a child, I have fond memories of the samurai bunny appearing in the original TMNT television cartoon, and he always struck me as such a fun character. Recently I was gifted this book by our good friend Derek, The Border Geek, which marks the first time I’ve enjoyed Eastman and Sakai’s creations together in comic book form.

There are a few different sections to the book, with the main one being an all-new story by Sakai featuring the Turtles joining Usagi in an adventure to save Japan from destruction. This short one-shot, called “Namazu” or “The Big Fish Story”, is based on an ancient Japanese story about a giant catfish called Namazu who causes earthquakes strong enough to destroy the island. The thunder-god trapped the creature under a giant rock, which pins him down and stops him from being able to flail around and cause these earthquakes. In the comic, a piece of that ancient rock has broken off, and Splinter tasks Usagi and the Turtles to help him return it to it’s place in the Kashima Shrine before Namazu can gain enough power to begin thrashing and destroy the island of Japan. Along the way the group meets resistance against one of Usagi’s nemeses, Jei – The Blade of the Gods – along with a huge group of brigands that Jei has gathered to his cause, and a battle ensues.

Having previously only experienced Usagi as a visitor in the TMNT cartoon universe, the first thing I have to comment on is Sakai’s art style, which is much different from what I was expecting, though not in a bad way. Without prior knowledge I had expected something akin to Eastman’s style in the original TMNT comics, but while some similarities can be seen in the design of the Turtles themselves, Sakai’s art style has a bit more of a cartoony tone to it. The world he created for Usagi is of an Ido-era Japan inhabited by sentient animals, and the art reminds me irresistibly of some of the older animal-based anime I saw as a child. In particular some of the character’s faces bring “Samurai Pizza Cats” to mind, although that show had a cleaner and brighter style, whereas Sakai’s comic has more of a sketch-and-shade style with bubblier bodies as opposed to lots of straight lines and strict edge-work. You can tell that Sakai draws the way he sees it in his head, and rather than trying to be very deliberate with things like body proportions, he has fun with funny faces and wacky poses when possible. It might take a little bit of getting used to if you’re a fan of a more serious style of comics, but if you’re a fan of older anime and manga, you’ll feel right at home among Sakai’s art.

The story line itself is cute and fun, with the titular characters fighting when they first meet before teaming up to tackle the task at hand. As I said, it’s based on a Japanese folk tale, and it’s fun to see how Sakai explains and animates the tale as it is conveyed to the Turtles. All in all the story is a simple one, short and straight-forward, a standard one-shot comic. There isn’t a huge amount to talk about here as the entire comic is only 38 pages, but it’s well-done and a lovely little tribute back to the days when Usagi and the Turtles fought side-by-side. Additionally, at the end of this one-shot is a page of text explaining the details of the folk tale on which the story line was based.

The remainder of the book is a collection of fun extras for fans of both franchises. This section begins with some character design sketches of the Turtles drawn by Sakai in preparation for the comic, and moves into a reprinting of the original crossover between Usagi and the Turtles, a short, 6-page one-shot titled, “Turtle Soup and Rabbit Stew”. This black-and-white story first appeared in “Turtle Soup #1” in 1987, and features Leonardo being thrown into Usagi’s world for no particular reason, whereupon they both fight a group of brigands before turning on each other, at which point Leo gets unceremoniously popped back into his own world. It is the most basic, logic-free style of crossover with no explanation for the encounter what-so-ever, but at the time that was likely the point, and it’s a fun, silly little comic that was surely a thing of beauty for Usagi and TMNT fans back in the late 80’s.

The book then moves on into several photocopied pages of Sakai’s story outline notes for the “Big Fish” comic, and then into several pages of “thumbnail layouts”, which are very rough storyboard-style sketches showing the plan for the layout of the comic panels. Finally we are treated to several pages of alternate covers for the “Big Fish” comic, including several different drawings by Sakai, but also alternate covers by Sergio Aragones and David Petersen, as well as three special pieces of artwork created by both Kevin Eastman and Stan Sakai. All are beautiful pieces that would look gorgeous in a frame on a collector’s wall (although obviously I won’t be tearing them out of the book any time soon).

As a whole, the book is a beautiful item for fans of Usagi Yojimbo and TMNT alike, with some excellent extras through in behind the main comic. If you’re a fan of Stan Sakai in particular, this is a must-have, and if you’re a Usagi collector this gorgeous hardcover book would look beautiful posed on a shelf next to toys, art prints, or other beloved items relating to the samurai bunny.

Have you read Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles / Usagi Yojimbo? What did you think? Feel free to share in the comment section!

Viewer Mail! A Box of Awesome Surprises from UK Dave! Comics, Pins, Funko Pop, Mystery Minis & More!

It never ceases to amaze me whenever someone mails a box (or envelope, as the case may be) of goodies to open on the channel, and Dave is a particularly awesome viewer – and friend! – who is amazing for passing on items that are leaving his collection to people he believes will appreciate them. So once again we have a pile of awesome items all the way from the UK, including variant cover comics, a gorgeous art print, enamel pins, shot glasses, and  toys/collectibles. Have a look to see the sweet haul Dave sent our way, and shoot us a comment to let us know which items are your favorites!

February’s “To-Be-Read” List

Thus far, my plans to have a monthly “To-Be-Read” list are working out just fine. January’s list is nearly complete (I got a little behind on A Clockwork Orange because of our massive push to get videos filmed in time for our channel’s anniversary), so it’s time to move forward with February’s list. For the shortest month of the year (and taking into consideration that I still have to finish A Clockwork Orange) I decided to go with a selection of comics. These are trade paperbacks, mind you, and one of them is a full-series manga compilation, with another a giant library edition compilation, so they’re not super-fast reads or anything like that. I’ve also been dying to read all three of them, so to heck with anyone who scoffs at the lack of a novel on the list! 😛


The first that I plan to read, which was a present from our good buddy Derek, The Border Geek, is a copy of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles/Usagi Yojimbo by Stan Sakai. Anyone who knows me knows that I grew up with the Ninja Turtles and am a huge fan to this day, but I’ve also always had a soft spot for Usagi, the samurai bunny, since I was a kid. Usagi was always a little bit of a niche character, not as well-known, with fewer toys and other merchandise available for him, but my cousins had toys of him and I loved playing as the Turtles’ furry Japanese friend. Therefore I can’t wait to rip through this book that Derek sent me, as it’s been years since I’ve really enjoyed this beloved character.

Once I’m finished with the sword-wielding bunny, I plan to move on to my complete deluxe edition of Tomie, by Junji Ito. Last month I read through the 2-in-1 deluxe edition of Gyo, also by Ito, and it did not disappoint in terms of sheer madness and horrific gore. Ito is surely a little mad in the head himself, which is why I’ve become addicted to his work. Knowing a little of the story of Tomie in advance from the movies, I’m quite confident that I’m going to be more than (disgustingly) pleased with this book as well.

And finally, once I get those other two out of the way, I’m moving on to the big guns: volume one of the library editions of Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8. These are enormous, oversize, deluxe hardcover edition omnibuses, with this first volume covering the first two story arcs of Season 8, plus two one-shots. I’ve been dying to read this for a long time now, as the end of the Buffy TV show left a gaping hole in my soul. Okay, that might be a little bit dramatic, but it does remain one of my favorite TV shows of all time, something that I’m able to go back and watch in its entirety over and over again, so when I first found out that some of the comics were actually an official expansion on that universe, complete with Joss Whedon as part of the creative team, I knew that I needed it in my life. Rather than try to track down individual issues or go for the standard omnibuses, I decided to go with the library editions, as they seem to cram in the most bang for your buck, and are gorgeous at that. I can’t wait to finally sink my teeth back into the amazing world that has captured my heart since I was 13 years old.

So those are my upcoming reads for February! Do you have a TBR list? Are there any comics on it, or are you strictly a novel-reader? Feel free to share in the comments!

Loot Crate Unboxing (December 2017) – Explore Theme with Exclusive Mystery Figure!

It’s a Late Crate, err, I mean…It’s a Loot Crate! XD
This box is incredibly late for some reason (*cough*CanadaPost*cough*), but we’ll forgive them this time, because there was a randomized mystery item in this particular box, and we wound up with something awesome!

The theme for the box was “Explore”, and featured items from Destiny 2, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2, and Star Wars. If you’re interested in checking out Loot Crate for yourself, look for the link in the video’s description box!